Judicial recount in Gaspé: the PQ wins a 10th seat

Dépouillement judiciaire dans Gaspé: le PQ gagne un 10e siège

GASPÉ — The Parti québécois (PQ) wins a 10th seat to the result of the judicial recount in the electoral district of Gaspé, completed on Wednesday evening. The candidate Méganne Perry Mélançon won the victory with a 41-vote majority, ahead of the liberal Alexander Boulay, who had first been given to the winner.

On the evening of the 1st of October, the count gave 132 votes ahead of the liberal. A ballot box was, however, of the results judged to be unlikely by the PQ : its 194 votes would have gone to the liberal, and none to the other candidates. It was the school’s Eastern Shore in the area of Wakeham.

Of voters of this polling division have stated under oath that they had not voted for Mr. Boulay. Ms. Perry Mélançon has, therefore, sought and obtained a judicial recount.

The Parti québécois becomes the second official opposition to the site of Québec solidaire (QS). The two parties now have 10 members, but the PQ has got 38 000 votes more than QS in the province.

To the contrary, the decision of the court on Wednesday night puts the liberals of 30 to 29 seats.

In a message published on the social network Twitter, the president of the campaign liberal, Alexandre Taillefer, concedes the defeat of its candidate. “Alexandre Boulay, the next will be good, he wrote. You will remain a tireless defender of the Gaspé peninsula and entrepreneurship. Am proud of you and all your team. Then goes up your sleeves, and comes to work with us in the renewal of the liberal Party of Quebec.”

This is a second victory for the PQ to the stage of the judicial recount. Tuesday in the Îles-de-la-Madeleine, pq Joel Arseneau is seen to confirm his victory by 15 votes ahead before the liberal Maryse Lapierre, who had asked for a recount.

In the district of Ungava, pq Jonathan Mattson also calls for a judicial recount. The caquiste Denis Lamothe won by 44 votes.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *