Mayor-elect Adams announces official transition team

Earlier than Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams is sworn in as mayor on Jan. 1, his new team of executives, labor and organizational leaders will lead the important transition course of. 

The total listing of transition team members hasn’t been launched, however Adams’ team introduced the co-chairs, equivalent to Goldman Sachs CFO Stephen Scherr, on Nov. 10. 

Perspective administartion staff and people desirous to get entangled within the transition can accomplish that on Adams transition web site,

“I am excited to get started and to help Eric make New York a safer, fairer, more prosperous city for all New Yorkers,” mentioned Kyle Bragg, president of 32BJ SEIU and co-chair of the transition team. Bragg leads a union of about 35,000 members in New York Metropolis. 

The team of 10 co-chairs is led by Sheena Wright, president and CEO of United Means of New York Metropolis. Initially from the Bronx, Wright is the primary lady to guide United Means of NYC. She is a drive within the nonprofit sector and can probably be answerable for reviewing the slew of purposes for Adams’ transition team that may arrive within the coming weeks. Wright additionally started Collectively we Thrive, a Black enterprise community that offered technical assist to small companies within the wake of COVID-19. 

“Over the next seven weeks, we will task a dozen committees and dozens of committed experts and advocates with the essential work of preparing the Adams Administration to deliver for New Yorkers,” the transition chair mentioned. 

Adams’ team didn’t reply instantly to requests for touch upon what these committees will likely be. 

Again in 2013, Mayor Invoice de Blasio’s transition team was led by Jennifer Jones Austin and Carl Weisbro, the latter of which had a historical past in a number of mayoral administrations earlier than becoming a member of de Blasio’s team. Austin had an analogous background to Adams’ chair—a historical past in nonprofit work with low-income New Yorkers. 

The opposite co-chairs of Adams’ transition team are Wealthy Maroko, President of the New York Lodge and Gaming Trades Council, Sharon Greenberger, President and CEO of YMCA of Higher New York, Steven Choi, Government Director of One for Democracy, David Lee, Chair of the League of Asian Individuals of New York, Charles Phillips, Infor CEO, Felix V. Matos Rodriguez, Chancellor of The Metropolis College of New York and Darren Walker, President of the Ford Basis. Collectively, they cowl various communities of residents, the schooling group, labor stakeholders and far more. 


Source link